ChrisToh Wu

January 20, 2023

When I am among the trees, especially the willows and the honey locust, equally the beech, the oaks and the pines, they give off such hints of gladness.I would almost say that they save me, and daily.

I am so distant from the hope of myself, in which I have goodness, and discernment, and never hurry through the world but walk slowly, and bow often.

Around me the trees stir in their leaves and call out, “Stay awhile.” The light flows from their branches.

And they call again, “It's simple,” they say, “and you too have come into the world to do this, to go easy, to be filled with light, and to shine.” - Mary Oliver


February 13, 2022

"What would you do if you knew you would fail? What would be worth doing even though it's not going to work? And if you've got things on that list that you haven't been doing, ironically, those are the things that are most likely to work because other people aren't doing them either" - Seth Godin


January 10, 2018

Calligraphy ComMission Completed. Addressing envelopes has been added as a new finger strength and endurance training exercise routine. I am happy to record the completion of my first calligraphy commission from a special, soon-to-be married friend. It has been less than a year since I started my first calligraphy class at the Smithsonian. It has also been less than a year since I wrapped up an internship in the White House Office of Calligraphy. It is an experience I can't forget, and I'm glad I can hold on to it through this new practice.

Cheers to 2018 and continued creation. There is much to learn with no end in sight...


December 15, 2017

The Purpose of art is to connect the visible with the invisible; the temporal with the timeless.” This was a memorable quote, discussed over dumplings and Polish beer with Professor Bogdan Swider


May 27, 2017

Tonight, I experience pre-flight anxiety as I wait for sleep to sweep over me. The brightness of my computer screen doesn't help, but I thought this very moment could be my blog's first stepping stone.

In a few hours, I will be flying to Chicago with my parents to visit brother Victor. We will be touring the windy city, but my eyes are scoping out a greater future: a month-long brotherly road trip from Chicago to California and back -- roughly 5,000+ miles and 90+ hours of driving.

I know this adventure will help us come alive. I look forward to seeing life in brighter colors once again.

Adventure is out there...